CellNews Information

Instructions for Authors


Cell News is the publication organ of the German Society for Cell Biology (DGZ)
Currently Cell News publishes research news in the format of a Minireview and Perspective article. Minireviews provide a concise overview of a certain cell biological topic, while Perspectives provide a more personal viewpoint of the author, usually with emphasis on the author’s own scientific contributions.

File formats

Manuscript text and tables should be provided as Microsoft Word or rich-text-format (RTF) documents, figures as JPEG files with lowest compression and a resolution of 300 dpi. Movie files should be compatible with Quicktime and compressed with a common codec, such as MPEG-4 or Sorenson-3.

Word count

Articles should have a word count between 2000 and 3000 words and contain up to 4 figures. Longer articles and higher figure numbers are acceptable at the editor’s discretion.

Text and References

Authors are free to divide their text into subsections, however, they should provide an abstract (up to 200 words). Figures and tables should be cited in numerical order and references to figures should be abbreviated with “Fig.” or “Figs.”. The reference style of Mol. Biol. Cell. should be used
Kleylein‐Sohn J, Westendorf J, Le Clech M, Habedanck R, Stierhof Y‐D, Nigg EA (2007). Plk4‐induced centriole biogenesis in human cells. Dev Cell 13, 190–202.
In the text this would be cited as (Kleylein-Sohn et al., 2007). In case less than three authors each author is named.

Cover suggestions

Cover suggestions are welcome


Manuscripts should be sent by email both to dgz@dkfz-heidelberg.de and the editor-in-chief h.herrmann@dkfz-heidelberg.de
If possible the manuscript and all additional files should be sent as a single ZIP archive. If data sets are too large for email submission please contact the secretary at dgz@dkfz-heidelberg.de

Publication costs

Publication in Cell News is free of charge for non-commercial articles.

Reviewing process

All manuscripts are reviewed by members of the editorial board, who decide on acceptance and may ask for revisions.


– Prof. Dr. Ralph Gräf (Universität Potsdam)


– Prof. Dr. Ludwig Eichinger (Universität zu Köln)
– Prof. Dr. Oliver Gruss (Universität Heidelberg)
– Prof. Dr. Eugen Kerkhoff (Universität Regensburg)
– Prof. Dr. Friedemann Kiefer (MPI Molecular Biomedicine, Münster)
– Prof. Dr. Thomas Magin (Universität Leipzig)
– Prof. Dr. Carien Niessen (Universität zu Köln)
– Prof. Dr. Klemens Rottner (Technische Universität Braunschweig)